Metro Transit Infrastructure Fund

Fiscal Year 2024 Grant Applications

 for the fourth cycle of the Metro Transit Infrastructure Fund (MTIF). These grants aim to support various transit-related improvements, including road, bridge, and sidewalk enhancements within ¾ mile of Metro's service area in Hamilton County. MTIF Applications for 2025 will open in Q1 2025. 

Applicant Guidelines

Hamilton County and all municipalities and townships in Hamilton County are eligible to apply for grants. The Transit Infrastructure Fund Applicant Guidelines provide details on the grant program and the application process.

Download the 2024 applicant guidelines.
Download the 2024 application.
Download the 2024 application checklist.
Download the 2024 project selection criteria

Download the Bus Stop Guidelines.
Download the Bus Route Information Files


In May 2020, the residents of Hamilton County voted to replace Cincinnati Metro's existing funding model, which relied primarily on the city's earnings tax, with a new funding structure. Effective January 2021, a 0.8-percent sales tax will fund SORTA for the next 25 years.

Seventy-five percent of the sales tax levy (or 0.6 percent) funds Metro’s bus service operations and capital costs. The remaining 25 percent (0.2 percent) goes toward infrastructure improvements — such as road, bridge and sidewalk improvements — that fall within Metro's service area and would benefit bus service.

Since 2021, through MTIF grants, Metro has awarded $294 million in funds to 97 projects across the county, including $205 million awarded to the Western Hills Viaduct.

The goal of the program is to:
- Assist localities within Hamilton County in improving the state of their roadway infrastructur
- Improve overall mobility for Hamilton County residents by providing grant funds to roads that are within Metro’s service area

Infrastructure projects eligible for consideration must be within ¾ mile of a Metro fixed transit route – excluding stretches on limited access highways, classified as Class 1, such as I-275, I-75, I-74 and I-71.

Fiscal Year 2023 MTIF Award Recipients

In 2023's round of grants, $27.8 million in funding was awarded to 29 projects spread across 20 municipalities in Hamilton County.
View the list of 2023 projects

Fiscal Year 2022 MTIF Award Recipients

In 2022's round of grants, Metro awarded $39.2 million to 36 road, bridge and other infrastructure improvement projects across 25 Hamilton County communities.
View the list of 2022 projects

Fiscal Year 2021 MTIF Award Recipients

In 2021's round of grants, Metro awarded nearly $227 million in grants to 30 infrastructure projects across 22 Hamilton County communities.
View the list of 2021 projects


Any questions regarding the Transit Infrastructure Fund may be directed to Khaled Shammout, Chief Strategic Planning, Development and Innovation Officer, at or by phone at (513) 632-7671.

Project Approval

The Transit Infrastructure Fund program is being administered by SORTA staff. Transit Infrastructure Fund applications will be scored by an evaluation committee designated by SORTA. Final approval of selected projects will be granted by the OPWC District 2 Integrating Committee.

District 2 Integrating Committee

Member Representing
Eric Beck (Chairman)  Hamilton County
Thomas Hart Hamilton County - At Large
William Weber City of Cincinnati
Greg Long City of Cincinnati
Sheryl Long City of Cincinnati
Robert Bemmes Hamilton Co. Municipal League
Lee Czerwonka Hamilton Co. Municipal League
Denny Connor Hamilton Co. Township Assoc.
Tony Rosiello Hamilton Co. Township Assoc.


District 2 Integrating Committee Alternates

Member Alternate For
Todd Long Eric Beck
David Krings Thomas Hart
John Brazina Greg Long
Angela Wright Sheryl Long
Karen Alder William Weber
Craig Margolis Robert Bemmes
Carson Sheldon Lee Czerwonka
Dan Unger Denny Connor
Josh Gerth Tony Rosiello